What It’s Like

Posted: September 29, 2010 in Bible, Christ, Church, Jesus Christ
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I heard this song again the other day (the video is below if you’d like to hear it.) and it really kicked me in the gut and ultimately changed my views on a VERY controversial issue :

Mary got pregnant from a kid named Tom who said he was in love
He said don’t worry about a thing baby doll I’m the man you’ve been dreamin’ of
But three months later he said he won’t date her or return her call
And she sweared god damn if I find that man I’m cuttin’ off his balls
And then she heads for the clinic and she gets some static walkin’ through the doors
They call her a killer, and they call her a sinner, and they call her a whore

In our society girls are taught to look for this ideal man, the Knight-In-Shining-Armor, super romantic love and boys are taught toΒ want to get in girls’ pants. Girls are set up to be hamstrung by the slipperiest guy with the best line.Β  So Mary falls for Tom’s line, he gets what he wants and then bolts for the door. Mary believed that he was really who he said he was, saw a life and a future for them and now it is all gone. She doesn’t know what to do so she does the only thing that seems to be a viable option. Enter Christians, smug and Holier-Than-Thou as we usually are. Even if we don’t call her a Killer, sinner & whore, we think it. We’ll just look down our noses and pray silently for the slut.

Please don’t think that I am PRO-Abortion. I am just PRO-People. This fictional Mary and here real counterparts need us much more that the unborn baby(s). I used to get caught up in the statistics on abortion. Over a million dead. I believe those babies go immediately to heaven and are with Jesus (a place I would like to be.) The mothers are driven away from the church and God because we judge instead of pressing close to them when they need Him the most.

I’d Love to hear your comments even if you disagree. πŸ™‚

“What It’s Like”

We’ve all seen the man at the liquor store beggin’ for your change
The hair on his face is dirty, dreadlocked and full of mange
He ask the man for what he could spare with shame in his eyes
Get a job you fuckin’ slob’s all he replied

[CHORUS]
God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in his shoes
‘Cause then you really might know what it’s like to sing the blues
Then you really might know what it’s like [x4]

Mary got pregnant from a kid named Tom who said he was in love
He said don’t worry about a thing baby doll I’m the man you’ve been dreamin’ of
But three months later he said he won’t date her or return her call
And she sweared god damn if I find that man I’m cuttin’ off his balls
And then she heads for the clinic and she gets some static walkin’ through the doors
They call her a killer, and they call her a sinner, and they call her a whore

[CHORUS]
God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in her shoes
‘Cause then you really might know what it’s like to have to choose
Then you really might know what it’s like [x4]

I’ve seen a rich man beg
I’ve seen a good man sin
I’ve seen a tough man cry
I’ve seen a loser win
And a sad man grin
I heard an honest man lie
I’ve seen the good side of bad
And the down side of up
And everything between
I licked the silver spoon
Drank from the golden cup
Smoked the finest green
I stroked the fattest dimes at least a couple of times
Before I broke their heart
You know where it ends
Yo, it usually depends on where you start

I knew this kid named Max
He used to get fat stacks out on the corner with drugs
He liked to hang out late at night
Liked to get shit faced
And keep pace with thugs
Until late one night there was a big gun fight
Max lost his head
He pulled out his chrome .45
Talked some shit
And wound up dead
Now his wife and his kids are caught in the midst of all of his pain
You know it crumbles that way
At least that’s what they say when you play the game

[CHORUS]
God forbid you ever had to wake up to hear the news
‘Cause then you really might know what it’s like to have to lose
Then you really might know what it’s like [x3]

To have to lose…

and just for fun Everlast is the singer from House of Pain. πŸ™‚ Just older and fatter. Happens to all of us.

Comments
  1. Have this song in my ipod. Always makes me pray.

  2. David says:

    Thanks Mike–another heartfelt, spirit-led post.

    I think if we had a better attitude towards sex education, we could reduce the amount of unwanted pregnancies. This is actually what Planned Parenthood does best… you know…planning out parenthood.
    Abstinence is great…when we’re talking about somebody else (See: Bristol Palin), but people are going to have sex no matter what…let’s get families talking about it, because chances are the kids aren’t going to wait for the “talk.”
    Yes, it’s embarrasing. Get over it. A major part of being a parent is dealing with embarrasing stuff. (And embarrasing your kids.)

    • Mike Adams says:

      Thanks David! I think you are right and it is an issue that isn’t going to be fixed quickly (our attitudes toward sex and sex education) Abortion is a symptom of a larger problem. I can think of a whole slew of people who should abstain from sex. ( I used slew in a sentence!) I don’t have kids but what I remember from my childhood it seemed like my parents enjoyed embarrassing me. πŸ™‚ (Love ya Mom!)

  3. I think the key is to always remember that the only life we can manage (with Christ) is our own. Jesus didn’t commission us to do anything different than what He did, which was live a life of example. Now, for sure, Jesus taught a lot. But He taught in parables, told stories, harnessed the power of imagination. He didn’t spend a lot of time exposing the sins of others. He left that to the unspeakable power of the unspoken glance, and in the ground shakingly powerful and authoritative, “Go and sin no more” to those who He had the audacity to stand up for when everyone was against them.

    We need to stop adding to the Messiah’s example with words, clarifications and explanations, and start living in its simplistic complexity.

    • Mike Adams says:

      Cool man. It’s nice to have reconnected. I sure know that in my life I have done plenty to deserve being pitched into the lake o’ fire for eternal torment but the Jesus I know gets us a lot better than we get ourselves. He understands how we got to the place we are and loves us anyway. I want more and more of His compassion.

  4. Sarah says:

    Have you ever met anyone who has had an abortion? I know several girls and more often than not, it is the MAN who always talks the woman into an abortion. I also do not like the rash generalization of Christians (please do not think I am attacking you because I am not), many other religions see abortion as taboo, Hinduism is one example.

    More often than not, I have seen too many Chritians busting their butts to help many women obtain diapers, clothing, food, money, shelter, whatever these women need in order not get an abortion, and they never get credit for it. Instead they are called horrivle names like mysogynists, homophobes, uncompassionate, hypocrites, for trying to help other people.

    I have never see Planned Parenthood do this.

    To blame this all on Sex Education or lack thereof, is too simplistic and naive. What about all the housewives getting abortions because they just don’t feel ready to start a family. To tell me this does not happen is bull, because I know too many soccor moms who aborted their first child. You think Sex Education is going to help?

    The problem with this society is that children are seen as things we own, not as seperat entities with their own rights and persons.

    • Mike Adams says:

      Hi Sarah. I appreciate your input on this volatile issue. I don’t think any of us think of this as a simple problem with a simple answer. My interest in all of this is helping people find their way to the God who loves them so much that He would do anything to reach them. We as, Christians (yep I’m one) often don’t show God to be loving and instead misrepresent Him as being angry. He loves. Jesus said it. thanks, m

    • I agree with you, Sarah, when you say that there is a lot of generalization of Christians as a group (as there are with all people groups these days). I think we need to have as much understanding and grace for our fellow believers as we do for those who have yet to meet Christ — both “types” of people still need His presence and love!

      • Mike Adams says:

        Ahhh. You struck on the place I need to give more grace. It’s hard for me to love the little “c” church. Sure she’s a whore but she’s my mother.

  5. Sarah says:

    Hi Mike, thanks for the response, I never accused you of not being Christian. I get frustrated with other Christians myself as well.

    As a mother, and not as a Christian, as a woman, and not as a Christian, I just cannot understand how anyone would have the desire to destroy their own child (yes I have been down those roads, raped and all :() Jesus loves, but saying that does not help anyone in that type of situation, unfortunately.

    I don’t judge, but that does not mean that I have to understand and question someone else’s motives.

    • Mike Adams says:

      Sarah, I think it all boils down to the thing that Jesus said was most important. “Love” We don’t have to understand what motivates a person or how they got to the place they find themselves in just love them. Friends family, enemies, Neighbors, Jerks, Murderers and all. I can’t imagine why people do a lot of the things they do but it is my desire to love them. (notice I said it was my desire not an accomplishment. πŸ™‚ )

  6. Sarah says:

    Mike, I agree with you 100 percent, still I am human and maybe trying to love others, even my enemies, is my own personal struggle. I still try hard though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

